Posted in holiday, travel

Summering it up in the Monsoon

I was away on a very short Eid break; needless to mention, I am still not over the holiday mood as yet.  Every year, my family makes it a point to visit our relatives in India, and then they also take me to another city/country (mainly to cut me some slack on all the family drama).  Planning for the Eid holidays though is another agenda altogether; for traveling to an entirely different place gets tiring when one is given only a week to two weeks off.  This time around, my family decided to holiday in-house at a beautiful city in the Sultanate called Salalah.

Of course, I did not allow myself to even pack for the holiday without watching Sallu Bhai’s (Salman Khan, for those of you who are not aware) mega-blockbuster Bajrangi Bhaijaan.  Not only did I loooooove the movie, but the ambience was entirely desi while watching the film; what with the audience singing, dancing, whistling, and applauding to Bhai’s antics on-screen.  The experience took me back to India, where watching movies at the cinema hall is incomplete without the aforementioned ritualistic participation from the viewers.  Coming back to packing, since we were to holiday in Salalah only for three days, I took the bare essentials in terms of clothing and makeup.  Since I was already informed that the Khareef (monsoon) had just started, skinny jeans and full-sleeved tops made its way into my tiny American Tourister trolley case.  Of course, common sense declared that I carry an umbrella which I forgot at the very-last minute.

We started visiting the tourist spots at Salalah the moment we reached there.  Although Khareef had not set in yet, the weather was a thankful relief from the blazing Muscat heat.  The rain and cold mist greeted us wherever we journeyed to, with the green hills surveying us constantly.  Several humongous cows and camels deterred our vehicle from time to time, in order to cross the roads.  I did wish that we had had a proper tour guide though, for we could just find a driver who took us to all the famous places, but who could provide little to no information regarding the sites’ cultural or historical relevance.  Much like the Indian hill stations of Ooty, Kodaikanal, Dehradun, etc,; Salalah is merely a feast for the eyes, especially those eyes which have been used to experiencing the summer heat at all times.  Be it the beach or the mountain treks, one feels rejuvenated by the wonderful atmosphere.  Since the place is a small sleepy city, one does not feel compelled to stay there for beyond two days.

Rainy Days Galore
Rainy Days Galore
Minaret in the Mist
Minaret in the Mist
The Beach
The Beach
The Beauty and Splendour of being Blue
The Beauty and Splendour of being Blue
Donkeys are Cute too
Donkeys are Cute too
Walk through the Garden
Walk through the Garden
Cannot travel without my Trusty Handbag
Cannot travel without my Trusty Handbag
Hot Masala Chai on the Go
Hot Masala Chai on the Go
Delicious Fatayir on the Go
Delicious Fatayir on the Go
Say Mooooo
Say Mooooo
Camel Crossing
Camel Crossing

If you are a nature lover, I would suggest Salalah to be that perfect holiday spot which gives one a much required break from their place of habitation.  It definitely made me feel cool, calm, and relaxed; literally!

Author:

Hey everyone :) ! This blog is for all those who share my obsession with beauty, fashion, books, and movies. Yes, it seems like a potpourri at first, but one can never entertain a single interest alone; at least I cannot. I'm also a cat-lover or an ailurophile as they call it. This blog will essentially include my random musings and reviews on everything mentioned above and more (of course, I can't review cats, for I truly love them all). Please feel free to contribute and/or critique upon my posts. Lots of love out there to you :) .

Leave a Reply

