Posted in food

Feasting

The festivities have begun at my home, which means that I’m all geared up for Navaratri. My household is yet to decorate the bommai golu (doll display which is a traditional custom amongst the South Indian communities. For more information, please go to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golu); we are currently having problems with our wooden nine-steps platform, for it has gotten old and a musty smell seems to be coming off of it. We have got it restructured and repainted, and so we shall begin decorating it soon. I am super-duper excited for the coming nine-days of celebration, and yes, I was deciding upon all my outfits along with my mum. She has gifted me a traditional saree, so I will be wearing it in the upcoming days. I have also ordered a beautiful heavily embroidered shalwar kameez from a famous online Indian clothing store in the Middle East. I have also already decided upon my Diwali outfit; will be wearing my mum’s unused bandhani saree (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bandhani). She has handed down to me several of her graphic-printed sarees from the 80s-90s period, and I will be wearing them whenever certain occasions permit me to do so.

All the celebratory news aside, this post is about my birthday feast. There is this birthday tradition I’ve always followed, which is that I take my friends out to an Italian restaurant and then I take my parents to an Indian one. The former is ’cause I loooooooove lasagna………….who can ignore all that cheese???! The latter is ’cause I am crazy about Indian food, albeit I eat it everyday at home; my parents though aren’t very comfortable with any other type of cuisine other than Indian and Chinese. When I was at India, I had taken my friends to an ah-mazing organic cafe-restaurant at Bangalore called Green Theory. They serve 100% vegan food in an eco-themed greenery filled space. I had honestly thought that none of my friends would turn up then, since most of them are non-vegetarian, but they hadn’t wanted to miss my birthday (and I truly love them for that). Surprisingly they had loved the food so much that they still commend me for it to this day, and I got to gorge on all that veggie-lasagna (I am a vegetarian, if you didn’t already know).

Now that I’m back at Muscat, it has been an ask to find a good restaurant that serves veggie-lasagna. I met up with my Muscat friends at a popular brunch place called D’Arcy’s Kitchen; it is renowned for its 24/7 breakfast/brunch menu. We had ordered the food only at around 8:00 p.m.; we were too busy catching up with all the happenings since we were seeing each other after two years. My friend had reminded me to place the order, for she noticed the waitresses giving us odd looks. We asked for pastas and burgers (safe items on any menu), since we didn’t fancy eating brunch food at the time of the night. Unfortunately they didn’t have a lot of veggie-options; they had a beef bolognaise lasagna, and I felt unheeded to when the waiter didn’t even bother to check with the chef as to whether they could come up with a veggie option for me. The burgers and pasta were tasty, but they weren’t unique in taste and flavour. One thing I did love though was their mashed potatoes; I wished that it came as a main dish instead of just the side.

Pasta & Burgers
Pasta & Burgers

This time around my parents had decided to take me out to Sanjeev Kapoor’s (renowned Indian celebrity chef) new restaurant at Muscat, titled The Yellow Chilli. I have to say, the food befitted Sanjeev Kapoor’s popularity as a chef………..everything was just so yummmmm. We had started off with the tomato basil shorbha (soup) and the dal lemongrass marag (lentil soup with lemongrass and pepper). Usually lemongrass has an incredibly strong flavour which puts me off, but the soup was incredibly well-balanced; it was the first time I had enjoyed a dal-lemongrass soup so much. We moved on to the aloo nazakat (scooped potatoes stuffed with sweet corn and nuts), which was oh so amazing! I could have continued eating it forever. Then we had some buttered naan with shaam savera (spinach koftas stuffed with cottage cheese and bathed in tomato gravy) which was simply heavenly. Trust me, we had no more space since we were all tired out from eating, but I still did order a coffee-cake with coffee and vanilla ice-cream. Yups, I have a huge appetite…..I really can’t help it, I love food and I’m not embarrassed to admit it.

Mocktail 1
Mocktail 1
Mocktail 2
Mocktail 2
Aloo Nazakat
Aloo Nazakat
Pappad with Chutney
Pappad with Chutney
Shaam Savera
Shaam Savera
Coffee Cake
Coffee Cake
Condiments
Condiments

Of course, a birthday is not one without some cake, especially if it’s ice-cream cake! See, this is why I love birthdays.

This is what I wore to the restaurant
This is what I wore to the Indian restaurant

Lots of Love

Author:

Hey everyone :) ! This blog is for all those who share my obsession with beauty, fashion, books, and movies. Yes, it seems like a potpourri at first, but one can never entertain a single interest alone; at least I cannot. I'm also a cat-lover or an ailurophile as they call it. This blog will essentially include my random musings and reviews on everything mentioned above and more (of course, I can't review cats, for I truly love them all). Please feel free to contribute and/or critique upon my posts. Lots of love out there to you :) .

3 thoughts on “Feasting

  1. I love Indian culture/food and most of all Sarees! I live in East London and tomorrow and am planning on exploring the many Saree shops near my house. Will be putting a post up with my findings! πŸ™‚ Lovely blog πŸ™‚ x

    Like

Leave a Reply

