Posted in fashion, haul, holiday, jewellery, memories, Random, travel, Uncategorized

Break from Monotony

This has been a lengthy break from my already lethargic blogging activity; as is pretty apparent, quite a lot has happened over the past two months.  I ended up quitting my job, since I seemed to running around like a headless chicken at work, whilst being involved at tasks I did not really have my heart set upon.  I began poring over my new B. Ed (Bachelor of Education) textbooks and I managed to complete all the handwritten assignments on time.  Honestly, I had felt that my M.A. in English Literature was quite useless till I managed to quit my Administration job and took a personal vow to get into the field of higher education.  I know that I have a long road ahead of me, especially in terms of developing a thesis proposal and getting it accepted by universities, but at the very least I am enjoying everything that I am currently involved in at the moment.

After having completed my assignments/homework, I had to travel to my hometown to sort out a few issues.  I had envisioned spending a good time with my family in Chennai, but as several people may have seen on the news, the Chennai Floods ended up ferociously destroying anything and everything in its path.  Thankfully my family and I were safe, and we managed to send out rations of rice and pulses to help out the less fortunate.  My family-members fell terribly ill (physically and mentally) and I had to step up and take responsibility of the household matters.  I managed to get a flight back with a lot of difficulty; found out quite late that I contracted a communicable disease during the floods.  For now, I am getting tended to my bout of sickness by my parents.  You can read more about the Chennai Floods here.

Before travelling to Chennai, I had not expected (in fact, none of us had done so) the climate to malfunction at such an enormous rate, due to which I had managed to do some online shopping from here; the items had got delivered to my relative’s place in Chennai.  While I was studying in India, online shopping was the way to go, for one rarely ever found time to get away from the university’s clutches.  Flipkart became all the rage amongst us hostel women, for we could get dresses, cosmetics, accessories, bath and body care, etc.; at our desired budgets without having to move away from the comfort of our rooms.  Having been a Lit student, I got used to ordering a ton of novels from the website, and they ALWAYS delivered whatever I ordered within 4-5 days max.  What I love about Flipkart the most is their efficiency; their return-policy is excellent;  and their products range from being insanely inexpensive to outlandishly sophisticated.  I had once even got my cash back when a particular product that I had ordered was not available.  This time around, I had ordered two ethnic wear pieces alongside some Indian-inspired dangler-earrings.

The brand Cenizas has a good selection of graphic printed kurtas and kurtis.

IMG_1341
Sea-green Bead Earrings

Another website that I used to shop from while at India is Vajor; this one is reserved for special occasions.  They have a beautiful selection of clothes, shoes, and accessories; which are quite refined for the slightly high price-range.  My very first order from Vajor was a khakhi and dark brown lycra dress, which gets complimented upon by onlookers to date; it is extremely well-tailored and random passersby ask me about it whenever I’m seen in it.  With Vajor, I like that I get to own special pieces which everyone may not have; certainly with their clothes, it is highly unlikely that one bumps into another person wearing the exact same attire.  In terms of pricing, you get what you pay for; the products are of high-quality and their prices are neither too high nor too low.  They also package their products with great care and some really sweet text; mine said that it loved to see my awesome face :).  How adorable is that? This time round, I decided to try out a high-low shirt from their Flamingo Collection.

     Of course, I had received all my packages before the floods took over.  This trip was quite a sad one for me though because of the devastation which occurred in my hometown; I am glad that I was there at the right time to help out my relatives.

     And so ends the drought of the blog posts :).

 

 

 

 

Author:

Hey everyone :) ! This blog is for all those who share my obsession with beauty, fashion, books, and movies. Yes, it seems like a potpourri at first, but one can never entertain a single interest alone; at least I cannot. I'm also a cat-lover or an ailurophile as they call it. This blog will essentially include my random musings and reviews on everything mentioned above and more (of course, I can't review cats, for I truly love them all). Please feel free to contribute and/or critique upon my posts. Lots of love out there to you :) .

Leave a Reply

