Posted in beauty, colors, fashion, Uncategorized

Welcoming the New Colours of 2016

The fashion and beauty world are going ga-ga over Pantone’s selected colours of the year- Rose Quartz and Serenity; in simple terms, pale pink and baby blue.  Pantone terms these as being soothing both to the eyes and nerves, while symbolising unity within the dichotomy that prevails in the universe.  I would rather not comment on this part, because frankly I think that this is a fun little thing in terms of aesthetics, but we need to do a lot more in order to make the world a safer place for our children to live in.  Pantone’s chosen colours for this year remind me of the scrubbing exercises during my pre-med days; I used to envy the girls who got to wear the light pink and blue scrubs, for I had to wear a dreadful shade of green.  Sephora meanwhile has jumped onto the bandwagon and launched the Sephora and Pantone Universe makeup collection.  Frankly, the products are not anything stupendous enough to write home about.  If you enjoy looking through makeup inspired by the babies’ blankets at the Paediatric Ward without spending a single penny, then you will certainly appreciate Sephora’s painstaking efforts to turn apparently ‘peaceful’ colours into a smart marketing gimmick.

s1770684-main-hero-300

Modern Watercolours Lip Gloss Set

The colours are beautiful but quite sheer in opacity.  These are pretty interesting, as in they can change the undertones of your lipstick depending on the hue one wants to achieve.  These are pretty fun to experiment with in terms of makeup; just keep in mind the colour wheel while doing so.

s1770676-main-hero-300

Modern Watercolours Eyes Palette

I added this to my wishlist purely because of the nostalgia associated with this product.  This reminds me of those Camlin Water Colour cakes I was so obsessed with as a pre-teen during art class days.  I still make it a point to paint with water colours while making cards for my best friends’ birthdays, albeit I use the posher Staedtler version now.  FYI- the childhood habit of colouring really helps to deal with stress.  Coming to the palette itself, there is a great variety of colours included, but one definitely requires a set of neutrals to tie down the various shades together.  I guess one could use this in combination with a neutral palette.

s1770700-main-hero-300

Colour of the Year Matte Lipstick in Serenity

Obviously this is not something that one can wear alone (unless you choose to, of course).  You can utilise this underneath your coral/brown/yellow-red lip colours to bring out the ‘blues’ in them, thereby making your smile appear brighter.  NYX Cosmetics do have an inexpensive version of this in their Macaron Lippies Collection, in the shade Earl Grey.

macaronlippies_main.jpg

s1770692-main-hero-300

Colour of the Year Layer Lipstick in Rose Quartz

This is a really pretty blue-based pink which will work well in combination with the aforementioned Serenity one.  The colour is nothing unique though.

     I hope and pray that 2016 goes well, no matter what colours you all decide to project yourselves in.

In keeping with the theme, I sought out from my vanity whatever little alluded to Pantone’s colour scheme this year.

IMG_1447.JPG

From bottom-left:

  1. Maybelline Colour Show nail polish in 426 Peach Bloom
  2. Rimmel London nail polish in 270 Sweet Retreat
  3. Chambor Intense nail colour in 491
  4. Rimmel London 60 Seconds nail polish in 853 Pillow Talk
  5. Maybelline Baby Lips Colour in Pink Lolita
  6. The Body Shop Born Lippy Pink Berry Lip Balm

Author:

Hey everyone :) ! This blog is for all those who share my obsession with beauty, fashion, books, and movies. Yes, it seems like a potpourri at first, but one can never entertain a single interest alone; at least I cannot. I'm also a cat-lover or an ailurophile as they call it. This blog will essentially include my random musings and reviews on everything mentioned above and more (of course, I can't review cats, for I truly love them all). Please feel free to contribute and/or critique upon my posts. Lots of love out there to you :) .

3 thoughts on “Welcoming the New Colours of 2016

Leave a Reply

