Posted in beauty, favourites, food, hair, makeup, Uncategorized

And These are a Few of my Favourite Things: January 2016 Edition

It is time for a quite late Favourites of the Month.  How was your January?  Mine was pretty so-so; there were major decisions which had to be made and I brushed them under the rug.  Nevertheless, makeup motivates one to put their best face forward.  Hence without further ado, I present the favourites for January 2016:

IMG_1594

  1. Prestige Color Plus Multivitamins Nail Lacquer in 24 Aloha- The colour is a beautiful lavender with silver shimmer.  The only problem is that the nail lacquer chips within a maximum of three days.

b249d8e4d9387cca0e2059dae77382bc

From www.pinterest.com

2.  Bourjois Paris Healthy Balance Natural Healthy Glow Unifying Powder in 55 Beige Fonce- I am about to hit pan on this, and I have been using this as an all-over face-powder for over three months now.  I have super-oily skin, and this does make my face matte without being overly drying.  This apparently has some fruit ingredients in its formulation, such as Yuzu fruit and Sharon fruit.

healthy_balance_ferm__4

From www.bourjois.fr

3.  Rimmel London 60 Seconds Nail Polish in 853 Pillow Talk- Also mentioned in Welcoming the New Colours of 2016, Rimmel’s nail lacquers come in an array of colours, and one does not need to pay an arm and a leg for quality.  The shade of light periwinkle blue is superbly pretty.  Of course, it does not dry in 60 seconds but nevertheless it is fast-drying.  The polish does not chip easily, and the formulas come in small-sized bottles of 8 ml.  Hence, one has more opportunities to try more colours and shades from the brand.

3607342987876.gif

From X~press!ons Style

4.  Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Cream Kit in Medium- Mentioned in Packaged with Love.  I am in love with this palette.  In fact, ever since it’s arrival I have been trying my hand at contouring on a daily basis.  This is definitely something I will repurchase once I hit pan.

s1734730-main-hero-300

From www.sephora.com

5.  Yardley London eye pencil in dark green- This eye pencil is a Jane Doe; it has been with me for so long that the actual product and shade name has got wiped off from its cover.  The colour is a beautiful matte emerald green.  My only beef with this product is that it does not stay on the water-line.  It does work extremely well though, to line the upper and lower lash lines.

retractable-eyepencils-range-305x220

From beautysouthafrica.com

6.  Mikyajy Line and Precision Eye Pencil in 501- I am so glad that I happened upon this.  This beautiful green colour stays on the water-line, and it is extremely bright.  If you are in search of kajal pencils with intense colours and long wearing formulas, then I would highly suggest Mikyajy’s range of eye pencils and kajals.

mikyajy-line-precision-grp

From Mikyajy

7.  Catrice Cosmetics Lip Colour Intensifier in Ultimate Lip Glow- This is one of those lip-balmy formulations which enhance the natural colour of one’s lips.  I would recommend using this over a light lip-balm, since the formula is rather drying.  I usually wear this over my pink Maybelline Baby Lips.  After a couple of swipes with Catrice’s Colour Intensifier, the lips get a really pretty stained effect.

csm_72384_4b4219709ccsm_72384a_84d6047c96

From Catrice Cosmetics

8.  Parachute 100% Pure Coconut Oil- This is plain old coconut oil which a lot of Indian families use for cooking and beauty purposes.  I have been using this to oil my hair before shampooing, and it has really made a huge difference in the condition of my chemically coloured hair.  I use the original formulation, but there are many other types of Parachute Coconut oils which cater to various hair problems.

hair-oil_02.png

From Parachute

9.  Rimmel Lasting Finish Colour Rush Intense Colour Balm in 200 Keep Mauving- The shade name has got totally wiped off from the product’s cover.  The colour I have is a cool-toned mauve.  The ‘balm’ smells like vanilla cake, and it applies quite smoothly onto the lips.  The texture is glossy, but I would still advise people to wear a lip balm underneath it.  The colour itself does last, but it withers away quickly upon drinking and eating.  The Revlon Colourburst Balms are more long lasting, but I love the colour and texture of this product better.

colour-rush-intense-colour-balm_product-01

From Rimmel London U.S. website

10.  Lakme Sheer Satin Lip Gloss- I do not remember the shade number of this product, but this too is a sparkly mauve colour.  Yes, I have quite a few mauves in my makeup collection, don’t I?  I usually top the Rimmel mauve Colour Rush balm (mentioned above) with this gloss.  The product is sheer in colour, but the sparkles are what bring the lips alive.

Lakme-Sheer-Satin-Lip-Gloss

From Lakme Makeup

11.  Maybelline Expert Wear Blush in 20 Pinch O’ Pink- This is a light peachy-pink which may show up on really fair skin tones.  Unfortunately this used to do nothing for me.  I had tried to use this as a highlighter but it wasn’t strong enough even for that purpose.  However I came to realise that when used underneath my regular blushes, this ended up giving some dimension to my face.  This product has become a part of my daily makeup routine now.

index

From Amazon.com

12.  L’Oreal Paris La Palette Nude in 01 Rose- This is a palette of cool neutrals; I already own a few warm toned neutral palettes.  I like that there is a mix of roses, slates, and an orangey-apricot shade as well.

8915762249758

From Superdrug.com

     Well, one can never survive on makeup alone; people need to eat as well.  This was my favourite snack throughout the month of January.  They could make a mountain out of this, and I would live there :).

    Milkybar Buttons

     I hope you all enjoyed going through my favourites for January 2016.

Author:

Hey everyone :) ! This blog is for all those who share my obsession with beauty, fashion, books, and movies. Yes, it seems like a potpourri at first, but one can never entertain a single interest alone; at least I cannot. I'm also a cat-lover or an ailurophile as they call it. This blog will essentially include my random musings and reviews on everything mentioned above and more (of course, I can't review cats, for I truly love them all). Please feel free to contribute and/or critique upon my posts. Lots of love out there to you :) .

Leave a Reply

