Posted in beauty, colors, Indian Beauty, Lip Love Series, makeup, online shopping, Uncategorized

The Lip Love Series: Roses

Welcome to the second episode of the Lip Love Series :).  This post includes three pink lipsticks, and a nude E.L.F. one.

IMG_1725

From left-right:

Essence Matte in 10 Cotton Candy

Faces Go Chic in 226 Petal Me Out

Coloressence in 203 Pink of Glam

E.L.F. Mineral Lipstick in Runway Pink

IMG_1727

Essence Cosmetics Matte Lipstick in 10 Cotton Candy– Essence as a cosmetics line is not taken seriously by beauty and makeup enthusiasts, but it definitely should be.  I have tried their eyeshadows, mascara, foundation, powder, lipsticks, and nail polishes.  Honestly, I have had a good experience with all their products.  This lipstick too fits the bill in terms of the quality; the colour is a pretty fuchsia, but the texture is definitely not matte.  The lipstick is partially glossy which allows the colour to comfortably stay on the lips, and it lasts through one’s coffee and chai breaks.  In the case of a full-on brunch/lunch/supper/dinner session, reapplications of the product are surely required.

IMG_1733

Faces Cosmetics Go Chic in 226 Petal Me Out– I had bought this along with a nude nail polish at the Faces Cosmetics outlet in India.  Usually when I’m shopping from a specific brand for the first time, I either decide upon a lipstick or a foundation/powder product.  The reason being that if a brand can master the lip and the face categories, then it pretty much seals the deal for me.  Their eyeshadow range was not tempting in the least, and the sales people were not hustling at all; finally settled on a lipstick and I have to say that I’m quite happy with it (I already had several face products at that point, and I didn’t feel compelled to buy a new one).  The colour is a mimosa pink and the texture is creamy, with the lip wear lasting through a few lattes or drinks.  It does the job of a good lipstick, but if longevity is on your mind then I’d recommend a liquid lipstick.  If you pass by any Faces outlet, then take my suggestion and check out their collection of lippies and nail paints.

IMG_1734

Coloressence lipstick in 203 Pink of Glam– If you’re planning to do some lipstick shopping in India, then please order some Coloressence products of the same from the online retail sites; Flipkart even makes some beauty-in-a-box stuff with the brand.  I’ve been hooked onto Coloressence ever since I tried their pinky-nude beauty-in-a-box.  The lipsticks are more like an opaquely coloured lipbalm; they are soft, creamy, long wearing, inexpensive, and they smell like rosewater.  Pink of Glam is a punchy pink; a general blue-based pink which will suit most skin tones.  I have a few more lipsticks from the brand, so please do be on the lookout for them.

IMG_1735

E.L.F. Mineral Lipstick in Runway Pink– This colour is a blush-toned nude.  I loooooooove the hue of this lipstick; it’s a very my-lips-but-better shade.  I think this complements both the fair and dark skin tones, as long there’s an undertone of warmth in the person’s skin colour.  This particular lipstick is quite moisturising; trust me, the E.L.F. Mineral lipsticks are not consistent in texture.  This is a definite repurchase for me.

     Out of the set, I would recommend E.L.F.’s Mineral Lipstick in Runway Pink and Coloressence’s Pink of Glam.  I hope you all enjoyed the Roses edition of the Lip Love Series.

Author:

Hey everyone :) ! This blog is for all those who share my obsession with beauty, fashion, books, and movies. Yes, it seems like a potpourri at first, but one can never entertain a single interest alone; at least I cannot. I'm also a cat-lover or an ailurophile as they call it. This blog will essentially include my random musings and reviews on everything mentioned above and more (of course, I can't review cats, for I truly love them all). Please feel free to contribute and/or critique upon my posts. Lots of love out there to you :) .

Leave a Reply

